“Map of the Soul : 7” is a musical masterpiece

Gagani Liyanawaduge, Reporter-Artist

BTS released the second edition of their “Map of the Soul” series on Feb. 21. The “Map of the Soul: 7” album contains music from their last album, “Map of the Soul: Persona”, plus 15 new songs. 


Tracks “Intro : Persona”, “Boy With Luv (Feat. Halsey)”, “Make It Right”, “Jamais Vu”, and “Dionysus” are from BTS’s previous album. Their new songs are “Interlude : Shadow”, “Black Swan”, “Filter”, “My Time”, “Louder than Bombs”, “ON”, “UGH!”, “00:00 (Zero O’Clock)”, “Inner Child”, “Friends”, “Moon”, “Respect”, “We are Bulletproof : the Eternal”, “Outro : Ego”, and “ON (Feat. Sia)”.


The album looks back on the hardships and realizations the members have gone through during the seven years they have been together. The title “Map of the Soul: 7” was chosen because there are seven members, and this year will be their seventh year together. 


“Interlude : Shadow” is Yoongi’s solo track. The track references “Intro : O!RUL8,2?” from their first EP “O!RUL8,2?” from 2013. It addresses the double-edged sword that is fame.


“Black Swan” is about BTS fearing losing interest in their passion for music. According to an official press release, the members wanted to “dive deep into their inner selves as artists and face the shadows they had once hidden.”


“Filter” is Jimin’s solo track; it shows Jimin’s different personas. Unlike other songs on the album, it does not reference other BTS songs; in the lyrics “I’ll take you to a whole new world”, “I can be your Genie” and “How ‘bout Aladdin?”, Jimin is referencing Disney’s “Aladdin”.


“My Time” is Jungkook’s solo track; it’s about his life in Bangtan since he joined the band at a very young age. He reflects on his trainee days from when he was 14. 


“Louder than Bombs” was co-written by Troye Sivan. The song is about the members continuing to question their identities.


“ON” is the title track of this album and it features UCLA’s Bruin Marching Band. The song references the hardships that BTS has been through. It also addresses the shadow that follows them and grows at the same rate as their success.

“UGH!” is a diss track where the rap line (Namjoon, Yoongi, and Hoseok) addresses their haters. The vibe of this song is very similar to those of “Ddaeng” and the “Cypher” tracks.


“00:00 (Zero O’Clock)” is a song that sounds sad, but is actually very uplifting. The lyrics “When the minute and second hands overlap” and “The world holds its breath for a little while” describe how 00:00 is a comforting time when you’re stressed out or sad.


“Inner Child” is Taehyung’s solo song that is dedicated to his younger self. He reflects on his past self in this song, and tells himself to do better in the future.


“Friends” is a sub-unit track sung by Jimin and Taehyung. It’s about their story of becoming best friends. It mentions many of the memories the two have made together and is a very happy song. 


“Moon” is Seokjin’s solo song, and is dedicated to ARMY. It talks about how much ARMYs mean to him by describing them as “[his] planet.”


“Respect” is another sub-unit track with Namjoon and Yoongi. The two wonder about what “respect” means and what it means to be respected.


“We are Bulletproof : the Eternal” is dedicated to ARMY and also BTS themselves. It is the third and final song in the series of “We are Bulletproof” songs that the band has released since their debut. The lyrics are about the journey BTS and ARMY has been on since the band’s debut.


“Outro : Ego” is Hoseok’s solo track. It’s about accepting yourself and your past while using lessons you have learned to move forward.


BTS used this album to express how thankful they are for being able to achieve their dreams because of ARMYs, and once again have created a beautiful masterpiece.